top of page
  • Writer's picturemichelleandersen7

Ice ice baby & Meatballs

Updated: Jul 8, 2019

How could I go to Sweden without eating meatballs and lingonberries every chance that I could? Also, the Swedish have a Fika that is a “coffee and cake break” during the midday. However, it is more about the “state of mind” and the people that you spend it with. It is such a calming break that was much needed when traveling so much. Here is our food list for Sweden filled with meatballs, mashed potatoes, ice, and so many lingonberries.

Sara’s Art and Cafe

Loved this adorable cafe in the old town of Sweden, Gamla Stan. Located near the Nobel Prize Museum, government buildings, and other shops, this place was the perfect spot for us to try a traditional fika. I got the full works- Punschruller (pastry covered in green marzipan, dipped in chocolate), Havregrynskugle (oatmeal ball), kanelbullar (cinnamon buns), artful coffee. The atmosphere was homey and local complete with beautiful, handmade artwork.

  • Traditional Fika $12.75 USD

Charles Dickens

I kind you not, Charles Dickens is listed as an attraction in Stockholm. While that is a bit of a stretch, the vibe in there was local and friendly. It seems like a classy sports bar with amazing, classic Swedish meatballs. My friend and I both got the classic plate with meatballs, potatoes with lingonberries and gravy on the side. I’m not normally a gravy person, but I love the lighter gravy that comes with Swedish style meatballs. I also got a local pear cider that surprised me with how much I liked it.

  • Swedish meatball meal 139 KR ($14.70 USD)

  • Pear cider 62 KR ($6.56 USD)

Meatballs for the People

Again, I had to go for the classic Swedish meatballs complete with potatoes, gravy, and lingonberries. Additionally, I added a lingonberry drink, which was truly the highlight of the meal. Personally, I was not a huge fan of these meatballs and thought they seemed a bit rubbery as if in a sausage casing. However, I do enjoy that the restaurant offers a variety of meatballs types, including moose, veal, wild boar, and reindeer, depending on the day. Plus, they use organic ingredients. Ironically, they are just down the street from Charles Dickens on Folkugagatan but this area is known for its shops, restaurants, and meatballs.

  • More Meatballs 179 KR ($19 USD)

  • Lingonberry Juice 70 KR ()$7.41 USD)

Ice Bar

A bit of a tourist attraction, the Ice Bar is created by the same people who run the Ice Hotel in Jukkasjärvi, Sweden. Imagine a hotel that is basically an ice castle complete with beds, other furniture, dining ware, etc. carved of ice. While the Ice Bar was smaller and did not live up to my childhood dreams, the experience of drinking out an ice carved glass in an icy room filled with ice sculptures was unique. It is quite cold in the room. I would recommend wearing your own gloves as opposed to the ones attached to the jackets and wear your outdoor gear including winter jackets and boots! A unique experience, if that’s what you’re looking for.

  • Admission & drink in ice cup $21.11


I hope your trip to Sweden brings fun foods like McFalafels from McDonald's (not recommended), cultural experiences like fika and the Ice Bar, and traditional foods like meatballs and lingonberries. Skål (Cheers)!


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page