top of page
  • Writer's picturemichelleandersen7

Penguin Island


A lighter adventure from our free day, Penguin Island. Some of us took the train out to Boulder Beach, where the penguins live. The train track goes right up to the water. I could not stop staring at the sight of the water coming up to shore and the town off in the distance. Breath-taking.

When we got to the national park, it was amazing. If you ever seen me with a camera in my hand and/or around animals, you can imagine the scene. I was running around saying hello to every new penguin friend. They were everywhere; walking around, sleeping, making noises at one another. The views were incredible as well. I did not want to leave. I was taking pictures and videos of them every way I could. I was really looking forward to see penguins in South Africa and the experience did not disappoint!

Don’t worry it was still an adventurous day. The train worker offered my friends 4 tickets in exchange for me! We also got stuck on the train on the way there and back. On the way back, we were stuck for a long time. Some locals chatted with us and were telling us how robberies and the train stopping were common. Thankfully, our friend was able to use her international data and contact our RA to help us set up an Uber ride home (we don’t

have Internet unless we are on Wi-Fi). We got

to see the stars on the drive home and for me

that was worth it.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page