top of page
  • Writer's picturemichelleandersen7

This is our lives right now

"Another day, another adventure"

Life can be pretty incredible. I hiked Table Mountain, one of the 7 new Natural Wonders of the World. While I don’t keep a strict “bucket list,” I would really like to see all 21 items on the 3 different Wonders of the Worlds lists. As we were hiking it, I could see why this place made the list. Even when we had barely started the hike, the view was already incredible. Cape Town is a gorgeous place with a mix of nature and city. It is a modern city surrounded by the mountains and with water on the other side. The hike is more of a rock scramble than a “hike.” It made me feel like a mountain goat, hopping around the rocks.

A few hours and rest breaks later, I made it to the top. The sun was at the perfect point in the sky before it sets. I frantically snapped pictures because we did not want to miss the last tram back down the mountain. But even in the rush, it was one of the greatest moments of my life. Every time I looked back down the mountain, I said to myself in wonder “this is our lives right now.” I sometimes can’t believe the incredible, once-in-a-lifetime experiences I have been having. Sometimes I just need a moment to recognize the sheer wonder of exploring a whole new part of the world. I’m merely trying to soak it all in.

There was a sense of pride that we had made it up the mountain. I had never done anything like that before and Adelina had never ever been on a hike before! But we made it up one of the Wonders of the World to see the view over the water. The tram down is even an amazing experience. The car spins the whole way down so that every person can see the view no matter where they are standing. You can see the rocks, the city, and the sun setting in the distance. It was awe-inspiring. Also, it only took a few minutes after we had struggled up the mountain for a few hours! Another day, another adventure.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page